Quantcast

Advice for my situation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dionysus33

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
I am a - soon to graduate - senior at a 'top 15' undegraduate university. My plan is to take a year off before applying to medical school, but I am having some reservations because I was accused of an academic integrity violation at the end of my junior year.

I understand how detrimental such a violation is just by being words on an application, so I am looking for advice on my future plans. In specific, the violation was due to improperly summarizing other research (not falsifying data or omitting citations). The words were there in black and white - no denial - but it was completely accidental/thoughtless being written through the late of night after a really tiring and struggle of a semester.

The violation resulted in me failing the assignment, which in turn caused me to fail the class. I was going through some personal issues for the semester, which is apparent through my overall grades before (3.85 GPA) the semester (where I got a 2.5 GPA). My overall GPA took a hit down to 3.62, but the class was not a science course and my science GPA is still over a 3.8.

I have two majors: biology, and a mixed program that covers philosophy, psychology, and neuroscience. I don't have the greatest list of extracurricular involvement; I have been involved in some volunteer work at a food kitchen, played a fairly serious traveling club sport, have been a TA for biology labs, and have worked (or volunteered) as an assistant in both a biology and psychology labs.

I have not taken the MCAT yet; I was planning to do it in the summer immediately following graduation. Not to be over-confident, but I have done well in the courses related to the test, am a good standardized test taker, so my score would likely be a good point on my application.