Advice for Soon to Be NonTrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MrOcean

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been a long time lurker of SDN and have finally committed to following the passion of medicine. I'm looking for different routes or avenues to take to make this dream a reality. Opinions and advice would be greatly appreciated.

1. I am graduating this May with an Economics degree with ~2.7 cGPA( Very low, I know). I will graduate with no debt.
- I've been in ROTC for all of my college career and because of that commitment, I never found something academically to be passionate about. I have not taken any science courses that will satisfy the PreReqs.

2. I am a Texas resident and a URM. I have some volunteering hours at a hospital, shadowed an MD for a short time, and traveled to the Dominican Republic to work with Army physicians, PAs, and others to support impoverished areas in the country. I currently work part-time at a local nonprofit as a night manager.

3. After graduation and commissioning into the Texas National Guard, I planned on getting a full-time job in a Nonprofit organization. Simultaneously, I want to perform an informal postbacc at my local CC and volunteer/shadow as well to satisfy my requirements. And, hopefully do well on the MCAT.

I'm open to all suggestions, I've read through SDN and just wanted to read advice on my current situation. I'm very open to MD/DO/PAschool. Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.