Advice from anyone currently attending U of Michigan or will be attending UM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GoMeesh

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a CA resident and I have recently been accepted to UM for this Fall. I plan on attending UM...however, I'm a little concerned about the move and what to expect from Michigan, location wise.

I'm the type of girl that wears flip-flops in the middle of January, and I'm afraid those days will be long gone when I move. Hehe.

Is there anyone that's moved out to UM from California/West coast? What do you think about it? Are you glad you made the move? How was it trying to adjust to the weather change? Why did you turn down other CA/West coast schools to attend UM?

In southern California you cannot survive without owning a car, will it be possible to get around UM w/o one?

Any input/advice is greatly appreciated!! Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

GoMeesh said:
I'm a CA resident and I have recently been accepted to UM for this Fall. I plan on attending UM...however, I'm a little concerned about the move and what to expect from Michigan, location wise.

I'm the type of girl that wears flip-flops in the middle of January, and I'm afraid those days will be long gone when I move. Hehe.

Is there anyone that's moved out to UM from California/West coast? What do you think about it? Are you glad you made the move? How was it trying to adjust to the weather change? Why did you turn down other CA/West coast schools to attend UM?

In southern California you cannot survive without owning a car, will it be possible to get around UM w/o one?

Any input/advice is greatly appreciated!! Thanks