Advice/input for non-trad nursing student looking to be non trad med student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pcu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I originally got a BA in film studies from U of Pitt, graduated 2002 with 2.65 GPA. I was a poor student then and was essentially lost, didn’t know what I wanted to do. I was pretty depressed actually. I worked about 20+ hours a week and spent the majority of the rest of my time in extracurricular activities, nudge nudge wink wink.

Anyway one day all of a sudden at work (26 then) I thought why didn’t I ever consider a career in health care? At the time the most practical entry to the field seemed to be a 22 month hospital based diploma nursing school. I had a number of hesitancies about health care as a career. I didn’t particularly like blood and guts and all that. I also had avoided science classes like the plague during my undergrad. Now I wasn’t sure if I would even like the subject matter and for that matter if I could even do it.

The nusring program starts off with sciences and I happily aced bio 1, microbio, A&P 1 and 2 all of which were taught at an accredited university. In the process I began to reclaim my once lost academic prowress. I began to believe I could once again compete. Remember I had said I was depressed at one point.

So then we started nursing classes. I kind of have a love/hate relationship with nursing school. On the one hand its my only access to the field of healthcare so for that reason I love it as it lets me “in”. On the other hand a lot of my instructors are nimrods and same for some of the students. As far as grades I am getting a B average essentially. Theres a number of reasons why this is the case but that’s neither here not there. Anyway by the time I am done nursing school (this December) my GPA will be around 2.9-3.0 overall.