Advice?: Med School = Break up with gf

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UT_mikie

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm having a little dilemma, and I thought what better way to try and figure it out than tell a bunch of people I've never met the intimate details. It might be kind of long so for those who don't want to hear a bunch of belly aching feel free to mutter "loser" and click on.

So I just got into med school class of 2009 (praise the lord) but instead of jumping up and down and dancing naked I'm feeling a bit torn. See I've been dating this girl for 2 years and she lives in Japan. I met her while she was studying at my univ, and we continued the relationship when I studied for a year in Tokyo (I got accepted into the exchange program before I met her so please don't think I followed her there, just a great coincidence.) And we've been apart now for a few months but things are still great.

My problem is, is that she got a great job in Tokyo and she has decided to start working, and I currently have two offers.

A.) med school
B.) a pretty good job in Japan.

I've been a pre-med japanese studies major since the beginnning and I've really enjoyed all the things of done relating to Japan. i coordinated international conferences I've studied abroad, and have become fairly fluent in the language but I always thought that I'd be going to med school in the end. But med school pretty much gaurantees that I have to break up with her because medicine is for the most part a domestic gig and i think it would be a complete waste of her talents if she came to the U.S. So no matter what I have to throw something away.

A.) gf and an opportunity in I-relations or
B.) 4 years of hard work and a fabulous future as a physician.