Advice Needed-PLEASE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

umich18

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a freshman at the University of Michigan, and I am really dedicated to hopefully attending medical school one day. My first semester did not go as well as I wanted to, taking three science classes and not performing at the level I had desired. I wish this came from a lack of hardwork, or laziness. I ended up with almost a 3.5 (3.48). I took my first organic chemistry exam a couple of days ago, and I truly thought I had been prepared. Everyday, I studied for at least a couple of hours, doing rigorous practice, and I even have deep interest in chemistry. It really sucks that something I enjoy is not going well whatsoever. I am not into medicine for the money, for the prestige, or any of that, but I genuinely want to attend medical school for reasons any genuine doctor did. I did not do well on the Orgo exam, and I thought I was prepared. I saw the tedious mistakes I made, and these could have been corrected. I attended office hours, all of them--I even attended my Professor's out of class workshops. I did not fail the exam, but I did not perform at the level I wanted to. So much of the time, when these disappointing moments arise, I want to give up on all of my medical aspirations. It is a horrible feeling, and I do feel like I am alone so much of the time with this problem. I have a burning desire to learn, and I try my best to study as efficiently as possibly, and I have not been as successful as I have wanted to.

I am seeking advice, from anyone. Any doctor, anybody in medical school, anybody who faced the same issues I am facing now. I am working so hard, and so much of the time, it is not paying off how I want it to. It is absolutely heartbreaking, because I truly do have a passion for this.

I appreciate all of your assistance, kind words, and meaningful advice in advance.