[Advice needed] Should I go to CC or my four-year state school (rising freshman)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DroneTheWizard

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm a rising freshman at a school in Florida and I'm not happy with my decision to go here. I'm debating whether I should stick it out or go to CC. I'm going to apply as a transfer applicant after one year regardless. I'll list a few of my reasons:
  1. I don't like how there are over 30k undergrad students here, and a ton of them are pre-meds. There are around 800 med-school applicants a year from here.
  2. Doesn't have the major that I want
  3. I've heard all the stories about how it is super hard to get volunteering/research opportunities here.
  4. Terrible pre-health advisors according to many sources
  5. A lot of the departments here are kinda bad
  6. Nearly impossible to find any pre-meds from here who went to a T10 medical school. Makes me wonder if being here is a big disadvantage
  7. No committee letter
  8. I have to pay rent out of pocket and it'll cost a lot (even tho I have full bright futures)
The deadline to enroll in community college classes is in a few days so I was wondering if I should switch into that instead. I can drop out of my current college easily. I'm just a little hesitant since I know a lot of medical schools (especially the top ones like Harvard or Penn) don't like CC pre-requisites, so I was wondering what I should do. I'm interested in going to CC for one year and then transferring out to a different university. I want to transfer regardless, so even if I stay at my current college, I will be 100% transferring out after one year. I also know that some of my courses won't transfer, so I might have to retake them which is fine by me.