Advice Needed!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Catalyst, Feb 28, 2002.

1. Catalyst

Catalyst Enjoying Life

I'm a sophomore and am thinking about running for President of an organization that (from what I've heard from past Presidents) would take 35-40 hours a week if I'm elected. I'm in a bit of a bind because I really want to run for the position because I think I can make a huge difference but at the same time I know that I'm taking MCAT spring of junior year and I don't want to screw that up. My friend who's a senior said that he took physics I and II, a Kaplan review course, and the MCAT during the summer after his sophomore year and he did well (15 PS, 12 BS, 11 Verbal). He's recommending that I do the same assuming that I run and win the election.

My GPA currently is at 3.7 (because of my lackluster first semester) and I have other good extracurriculars already (shadowing, research, founding member of 2 organizations, volunteer work). So now, I'm caught between deciding whether to run and take the MCAT in August or to not run and just stay on course and take the MCAT next April in my junior year. I'm thinking that I do not want to take the MCAT in August after my junior year and then get behind in the application cycle. Any suggestions?

Sachin

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Catalyst

Catalyst Enjoying Life

I forgot to mention, the only pre-med requirement I have left is Physics (I and II with labs), which I was planning to take Junior year.

Sachin

4. UCMonkey

UCMonkey Senior Member

Have you considered taking the MCAT in August after your junior year, waiting a year, and getting in EARLY in the next app cycle? That's what I did, and I'm glad. It will give you a year off of school to travel, work, make money, etc. This may be the only time you will get to do this.