Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by landrover77, Oct 25, 2002.

1. landrover77

landrover77 New Member

Here's my background:

I have been working in banking for the past 3 years (graduated college in 1999). While in college I bounced around from major to major not knowing what I really wanted to do the rest of my life. After playing way too much golf and skipping far too many classes, I managed to kill my GPA (2.7). The only science courses I took in college were intro. to meteorology and oceanography.

Now that I have matured and had time to figure out what my real interests are, I am considering exiting banking and pursuing dental school. I have been studying anatomy & phys. on my own time as well as reading any and all dental publications I can find. I am 100% certain that dentistry is what I want to do for the next 30 years of my life.

For the past year I have been researching admission and academic statistics for dental programs. I figure I have about 2 semesters of pre-reqs. to complete before thinking of dental school.

I would welcome any advice/recommendations as far was what schools to apply to (when that time comes) and what
    experience(s) would most benefit someone in my situation. Thank you.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. RSXer

RSXer :) UoMBCDSCo07 :)
    7+ Year Member

wow! 50 views and no help yet? c'mon peeps.

Well, I never question the sincerity of those who are considering dental school as a second career choice. The fact that you are willing to leave your career in banking to pursue something totally different makes me think that you must really like dentistry to be willing to give up your first career.