Advice needed!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silent_r

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a freshman biochem & molecular biology major (philosophy minor) at a relatively small college. I'm already planning to apply to MD/PhD programs. I hope to do research this summer, and hopefully volunteer at a local hospital next year. Any advice on what else I should do that would help prepare me for the application process (how early is too early to take the MCAT?)

Members don't see this ad.

Get as much clinical and research experience as you can and take the MCATs as soon after you complete the science requirements as possible. It makes preparing for it more of a review process instead of a relearning process.

Here's what I did to prepare for MSTP and my advice on preparation.

I volunteered at a local hospital one day per week for 3 years. That may in some ways be overkill, but everywhere I go they ask me why I stayed so long and comment on how extraordinary that is. I don't think 5 more hours on top of classwork is a bad thing.

I did research both during the summers and during the school year. If you can pull this off, I think that's the best thing to do. Try to find a Biology professor at your school who can start you on a project and get you trained on some techniques over the summer, and then continue there 10 - 20 hours per week during the school year. Then kick it back up every summer. I think that situation is ideal.