advice on asking for money for research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drslc134

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok...here's my situation...when I did research at a lab at a local university in high school, I worked as a research assistant uncompensated...

I'm now a sophomore (almost junior-to-be), and for this summer, I sent an email to a professor near home about his research and if I might be able to work in his lab in the summer on a part-time basis while prepping for the August MCAT. He said he couldn't but said he'd forward my inquiries to some of his colleagues...

One graciously agreed, and said that I would be welcome to work with him, though the tone I'm not sure what to make of it...the contents of the email omitting the greeting and professor's name said:

Hi _____,

If you are interested in helping in my lab for 4-5 hours a day, we are happy to have you.

You would probably help others with their projects, and if something arises that you feel comfortable in pursuing on your own, you could try to do something independent.

Best wishes,

It sounds good, but here are my issues:
1) I need to clarify what "help others with their projects" means, since I don't want to be lightly working on a number of different postdoc's projects, doing random protocols...so I will definitely be in contact with the prof and we'll work out goals...this isn't a big issue...the big issue is...
2) I'd like to get paid for this job (as well as contribute to the research)...this is where I'd like most of your guys' help...

How would you respond directly to this email mentioning if you were in my position and I would like a ____ stipend or reasonable by-hour rate without turning him off or risking my chances of him saying "no money" and putting both of us in awkward positions?

Also, any responses/advice in general on this situation and on prof/student relations?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.