advice on biology 101 course

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pinkjuicebox

Reaction score
hi everyone im new so I need advice about my biology 101 class. I started my freshman year of college during covid so it was online and the first time I took bio 101 I got a D. Then I tried to retake it the next summer and got an F because my professor was extremely strict on deadlines and would not let me turn in work despite me having computer issues. So I am currently a sophomore at a different 4-year college in the same state and taking a biology 101 class in person. The only problem is that the exams are nothing like the lectures so I am wondering if I do bad in this course should I retake it at a community college or just explain it when the time comes to apply to medical school?? Also what tips do you have for preparing for exams that do not resemble the coursework and lectures?

Members don't see this ad.

Maybe take a break from bio courses and reassess things because honestly the current trajectory isn't looking to good. I’m saying this as someone who also started off rough in college.

I think this may fall under the category of classes you need to pass. I’m just another student so obviously I don’t know this stuff fore sure—- but I think it’s going to be hard to convince an admissions team you’re a viable candidate if you can’t pass Bio 101 with even a C (at least without taking much more difficult biology classes and doing very well— which is very unlikely to happen if you haven’t passed the foundational course). At this point, better than a C would be ideal because you already have a D followed by an F on your record.