Advice on finishing organic chem

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

piernas

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a 25 year old nontrad…I am planning on applying for 2009. I have completed most of my prereqs (1-year Chem, Physics, and Bio). Here is my dilemma…I took a semester of Organic Chem when I was a sophomore in college (no lab, lab was only second semester). I am having a hard time figuring out how to finish up Organic.

My local state school only offers Organic in the morning (which conflicts with my full-time work schedule). The community college in my area has multiple campuses. Since traffic is horrible where I live, and I can’t drive to work (most everyone has to take public transportation), I am limited to the campus close to my job. I would be able to start with Organic I in the winter. I am ok with taking it over, but I wouldn’t be finished with the year long sequence until submitting my application. I also know there is a stigma associated with community colleges and pre-med reqs. My third option would be taking the course online (the course I was looking at offered a lab). But, some medical schools may not accept online courses….

I guess a good solution would be to find a more flexible job, but seeing that I don’t have too many more courses to finish, I’m not sure I want to do that…What do you all recommend?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I am a 25 year old nontrad…I am planning on applying for 2009. I have completed most of my prereqs (1-year Chem, Physics, and Bio). Here is my dilemma…I took a semester of Organic Chem when I was a sophomore in college (no lab, lab was only second semester). I am having a hard time figuring out how to finish up Organic.