Apr 12, 2010
Melbourne, Australia
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi gang,

First post, long time lurker. Also a lurker of the PagingDr forums that seem to be more Australian-focused, however this is a potentially global question, so I thought it best to ask here.

I started Uni wanting to study Optometry - specifically the OD through Melbourne Uni's new postgrad. Took a Science degree over a Biomed degree because they let me take some pre-Optometry subjects in First Year and opened my course of Majoring up more than Biomed did.

Long story short - went Part Time Semester 2 last year, worked at an Optom as a dispenser, and didn't really enjoy it at all. Far too commercial and sales-orientated for my liking. So that rules out the OD.

I am studying a Neuroscience major, Anatomy minor anyway so it was all good, no real harm done. Now I'm Part Time again this year to make some cash then back to Full Time to graduate next year. So I've made a 3 year degree into a 4 year degree.

Averaging H2A (don't know the GPA equates to, but it's a 75%-80% average) and really really enjoying my Neuro major. More than I ever thought I would. So now a very big part of me wants to continue on and do Hons in Neuro through Melbourne. I can achieve that, I think it's realistic. However, Melbourne also offer a MSc by research that I am also considering very strongly.

Additionally, I really enjoy Anatomy and more specifically Surgery. At work I do a bit of animal dissection and I was really enthralled in the Anatomy practicals last year, and plan on taking more anatomy subjects next year.

So ultimately I would like to either become a Neurologist or Surgeon of some description. My question is though, how to proceed from here?

A) Do I continue through the BSc (Neuro), take an Honours position, sit the GAMSAT and then apply for the MD through Melbourne - and hope to make up my mind through the clinical rotations?

B) Or do I take a MSc in Neuro, sit the GAMSAT, and apply for MD through Melbourne?