Advice on Majors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The Sultan

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am an undergraduate majoring in Languages and Cultures of Asia. I love what i am studying, and find myself completely absorbed in the subject. However, I am of indian origin. Would this fact count against me when I apply to med-school? Should i consider a double major? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks •••quote:••• ••••"Read not books alone, but man, and amongst them chiefly Thyself." - Francis Quarles

Members don't see this ad.

I think you should keep at what you enjoy. as long as you do well in your pre-med requirements, having a humanities major should not count against you. it may even make you stand out (which is always good with med schools!! )

i'm not really sure why being of indian origin would make a difference - it seems to make sense that you would be interested in something that you can relate to. :)

You should definetely major in what you enjoy, and make sure to do some indepth studies into it as well. Med schools dont care what you major in, at long as you complete the pre med requirement science/math/english classes. Having a unique major will make you stand out from the crowd. Keep it up!

Members don't see this ad :)