Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Advice on Majors

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by The Sultan, Mar 13, 2002.

1. The Sultan

The Sultan Member

Hi,
    I am an undergraduate majoring in Languages and Cultures of Asia. I love what i am studying, and find myself completely absorbed in the subject. However, I am of indian origin. Would this fact count against me when I apply to med-school? Should i consider a double major? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif"> </font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">"Read not books alone, but man, and amongst them chiefly Thyself." - Francis Quarles

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. pwrpfgrl

pwrpfgrl Senior Member

I think you should keep at what you enjoy. as long as you do well in your pre-med requirements, having a humanities major should not count against you. it may even make you stand out (which is always good with med schools!! )

i'm not really sure why being of indian origin would make a difference - it seems to make sense that you would be interested in something that you can relate to. :)

4. Epi

Epi Fuzzy Tiger

Medical Student
    You should definetely major in what you enjoy, and make sure to do some indepth studies into it as well. Med schools dont care what you major in, at long as you complete the pre med requirement science/math/english classes. Having a unique major will make you stand out from the crowd. Keep it up!

5. Hercules

Hercules Son of Zeus

Attending Physician