Advice on My Prereq/Mcat Timeline

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ACCT2MED

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background:

31 year old professional

Bachelor of Accounting
3.76 uGPA

Master of Logistics
3.92 gGPA

3.84 sGPA from undergrad coursework

Previously took Gen Chem 1/Gen Bio 1 and received As, but am retaking because I took the courses too long ago for any useful application/retention.

I'm a Texas resident and only plan on applying to Texas schools. I'm fairly academically disciplined, but want to ensure that I'm not setting myself up for failure. I plan to start out light while still working, then transition to full time study in the Summer 18 semester.

My prerequisite timeline is listed below:

Spring 18
Gen Bio 1

Summer 18
Gen Chem 1
Gen Chem 2

Fall 18
Gen Bio 2
Ochem 1
Phys 1
Stats

Spring 19
Biochem 1
Ochem 2
Phys 2
Micro or Alternative Bio Course

Summer 19
Study and take MCAT

Feasibly I could delay some courses until the Fall 19 semester and still meet the 6/1/2020 application opening. So, what are you opinions? Does this plan seem sound or is it a recipe for failure?

Members don't see this ad.

Those classes generally include labs... it's going to be a busy year for you! I spread my post-bacc out, which I would recommend especially if you're working.

Reactions: 1 user
When exactly do you plan on taking the MCAT? Your timing is too rushed for 2019 apps but seems too front loaded for 2020 apps...

Members don't see this ad :)
I’d youre gonna be a full time student by fall 2018 then I think your schedule is absolutely reasonable.

Can you audit those classes you made As in and just sit in? I wouldn't want to retake mundane lab portions for a refresher. Whatever you decide to do, summer studying for MCAT seems a bit late since our application cycle starts in May.

Honestly i get that you took the classes a while ago, but retaking them for that reason seems like a waste of time.