Advice on my situation. DIY post-bacc at a CC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

darkbidder

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated from a UC in 2015 and have just recently started to improve my app for medical school hopefully applying in 2020 or 2021. I have decided to take more classes at my old undergrad to improve my GPA and get LORs.

My GPA has a weird trend starting at a community college then transferring to a UC.

CC (2.5 years) - 3.9 GPA (includes Gen Chem 1 & 2, and some math classes up to Calc 1)
UC junior year (by quarter) - 2.6, 2.9, 2.7 (includes physics, calc, ochem, biochem, lower div bio)
UC senior year (by quarter) - 3.0, 3.9, 3.6, 3.9 (all upper div bio classes)

My calculated cGPA is 3.50 and sGPA 3.35

MCAT history:
2014 - 23 (I know)
2016 - 508 (expired)
Currently working on retaking MCAT in January

Is it wise to do a DIY post bacc at a CC given my history of doing well at CC but having a hard time (at first) at a 4-year? I am also open to doing a formal post-bacc or SMP because I honestly didn't make any connections with my professors and have 0 LORs at this point.

Members don't see this ad.

So I graduated from a UC in 2015 and have just recently started to improve my app for medical school hopefully applying in 2020 or 2021. I have decided to take more classes at my old undergrad to improve my GPA and get LORs.

My GPA has a weird trend starting at a community college then transferring to a UC.

CC (2.5 years) - 3.9 GPA (includes Gen Chem 1 & 2, and some math classes up to Calc 1)
UC junior year (by quarter) - 2.6, 2.9, 2.7 (includes physics, calc, ochem, biochem, lower div bio)
UC senior year (by quarter) - 3.0, 3.9, 3.6, 3.9 (all upper div bio classes)

My calculated cGPA is 3.50 and sGPA 3.35

MCAT history:
2014 - 23 (I know)
2016 - 508 (expired)
Currently working on retaking MCAT in January