MrLahey

Trailer Park Supervisor
Nov 2, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I'm an Arizona resident, and with my following stats how does my following list of medical schools look? Sorry it's long, I've been stalking for awhile and want to get in on the action.

cgpa:3.5
sgpa:3.45
MCAT 32Q v:11 p:11 b:10

Major Honors chemical engineering,Major Molecular Biology, Minor in chemisty

Honors: Full scholarship, Mayo clinic undergrad scholarship, Deans list, Academic distinction and National society of leaders

EC:
1. Hospice Preceptor
a. Assisted nurses and physicians, learning the intricacies of palliative medicine. Hands on patient contact. Became a preceptor, teaching new volunteers how to handle patients and how to care for them. 200 hours

2. Pallative home-care assistant
a. Visitng patients near death. Learning how to approach, how to talk to and comfort patients 50 hours

3. Mayo Clinic Research Fellow
a. Program that spanned 3 years, shadowing Urologists in clinic and surgery. Interacted with physicians, residents, med students and nurses. Helped develop surgical databases, restructuring physician OP notes. Analyzed, designed and authored 5 published papers. 300 hours

4. University Of Arizona Colligate cyclist
a. Competed in the southwestern conference against other universities around the southwester US. Trained and dedicated 10-15 hours a week to be successful. my team place 9th in nationals.

5. Heat shock Protien Research
a. Undergrad research assistant assisting in of HSP 70 BP1, discovered by my mentor. Cultured proteins, isolated deiserd proteins, ran gel elctrophoriesis, dialysis and buffering systems. Created a CDNA library for our bacterial plasmid created in our lab. 225 hours 1 full year

6. Medical Specialties club
a. Founding member of the medical specialties club, designed to expose pre-meds to various fields of medicine. Spent 25 hours in the ASTEC simulation lab performing simulation procedures, patient assessment and laparoscopic simulation.