Advice on Reserves/National Guard

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedNole

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a recent med school graduate doing getting ready to start a residency in ortho. I've always wanted to be in the military but never joined for whatever reason. I'd like to have a practice after residency & fellowship, so I'm only considering reserves or the guard. None of my friends or family have any experience with military medicine, so this forum (and recruiters) is pretty much where I'm getting ALL of my infomration. The financial incentives don't matter to me, but commitment time is important as is whether or not they will (or have a history of) pulling residents/fellows out of training. Learning to fly (if it's even a possibility) would be a huge plus. So, if you had to join a branch of the reserves or Guard today, which would it be? Like I said, I'm doing this pretty much just to serve the country so financial incentives are only minimally important. Thanks for any help!

Members don't see this ad.