Advice on which school (DO or MD) to apply with my specific situation

Aug 3, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi, I'm new to this forum so I'm still learning my way around. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm not a stranger to tough love and honesty so please tell me what you would do in my shoes:)

Undergrad was academically terrible, made the common mistakes that any 17-20 year old would make: sports, partying, relationship drama, ect and ended with my overall GPA of 2.9 and my science is lower than that. (not sure but maybe around 2.6)
I did a semester of post-grad at a fairly large school and made C's in all 3 classes.
On a good note: I started a masters program for a master's in medical science and so far I have a 4.0. I'm confident that I will do well on my MCAT in 2 weeks and plan to keep my 4.0 through this program.
I have great letters of rec, and a LOT of outside experiences/background in medicine.

I am applying to three DO schools, one of which I think I have a fairly good chance of getting into.
I am also applying to LSU-S and LSU-NO.

MY QUESTION: I would LOVE to go to the DO school, I think that it has a great program, HOWEVER, the allopathic schools have been what I set my goals on since I was very young and if I did get into the DO school this year and not the MD schools, should I consider putting school off a year for a better chance at getting into one of the MD schools?

There are pros and cons to each situation, the MD schools are cheaper and one is closer to home. The DO school is also close to home and I love the 'small school' feel of the community. I have a better chance of getting into the DO but is my 'dream' school worth waiting another year?

Thanks in advance, sorry for such a long explanation.

Dr. Death

2+ Year Member
Feb 11, 2015