Advice please: Best route to pharmacy school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pinkpharm

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's my situation:

I graduated HS in 2000 with 22 college credit hours (dual-enrollment courses with the community college). After graduation I moved away from home at the last minute and went to a community college in-state, basically bombed b/c I was lazy and unmotivated. Ended up working most of my time there. I got married in 2003 and moved out of state and started working in the criminal justice field full-time. Now, I'm in ANOTHER state, still working in the criminal justice field, re-married and set on being a pharmacist.

What options do I have? Am I only able to go to a community college due to my prior (albeit pathetic) credits from my past? Would I be able to try for a 4 year school for my pre-pharm (and if so, would a 4 year school increase my chances of getting into pharmacy school?) I plan on taking mass amounts of student loans out (which I was dead-set against before, but having a mapped out plan makes it justifiable to me) and trying to get a job as a pharmacy tech while in school to assist with tuition and living expenses.

Any help, suggestions, advice, opinions would be GREATLY appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.