advice please-retake mcat?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by petros, Oct 28, 2000.

1. I am a biochemistry student at UC Berkeley with a 3.92 cumm GPA, 3.94 science. I am also minoring in Spanish Linguistics. I just received my MCAT scores and I'm not sure whether or not to retake them:
    V8/PS12/BS10/S
    I know these are good scores, but I don't feel they match my ability. On my AAMC practice tests I consistently scored about:
    9-10/12-13/11-12. I asked my premed counselor if I should retake it and he said unless I could guarantee a 10 on the verbal, it would be silly to retake it no matter what. What I don't understand is that if I feel I can retake and get a 32, and my first choice school (UCLA) has an average of 32, why wouldn't I take it again? Considering I want to go to first tier schools like UCLA, Stanford, and UCSD, should I retake? Thanks.
    (P.S. I really don't want to take that test again unless I absolutely have to!)

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. gower

gower 1K Member

An average of 32 means that some of he accepted scored below 32 and some above.

On a retake you are as likely to lower your score as to raise it.

My advice, for what you may think it is worth, don't retake.

There are many other factors that enter into medical schools' decisions whether to interview or not, and if interviewed, whether to accept or not. Even the luck of the draw: who interviews you and what that interviewer is looking for, how you hit it off.

Your world will not end if you don't get your medical education at UCLA. And who knows, you might even find that where you do go to medical school was the best thing that happened to you. The future is seen through a glass darkly. In life, serendipity plays a role: finding agreeable things unsought for.

4. MSepo

MSepo Member