advice please!?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by wolf, May 31, 2000.

1. wolf

wolf Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

my science gpa is 3.4 , overall gpa 3.6 . (it would have been higher if not for a C in a calc II class 1st semester). like everyone else i did volunteering, psychology research, extracuric., went abroad too.
    what do you think are my chances of getting into such schools as columbia, yale, cornell, or dartmouth?

also, which schools are the easiest to get into in the northeast? i'm a NY resident so i'm talking about ny, nj, ma, pa, vt. etc.
    (i heard jefferson, mcph, but i'm not sure)

i'm gettin depressed here so any advice would be helpful.

2. nicolette

nicolette Member
    10+ Year Member

Hi Wolf,
    In answer to your first question, that depends on what you got on your MCATs. Needless to say, the higher the score, the better your chances at all schools. However, be forewarned that the admissions process is a complex and confusing one. Despite the efforts of pre-meds all over this country, there is no magic formula that will ensure an acceptance. Your gpa is good and you should have a fair shot at your state schools provided that all other aspects of your application are okay. Remember to be on top of things, apply early, and I think you should be okay.

Best of luck.

3. Lt. Ub

Lt. Ub Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

I echo that - a stellar MCAT will catch their attention. No matter how much they try to hide it, most schools on that list of yours won't even consider the prettiest application unless it makes a certain MCAT and GPA cut-off. I go to Penn Med and interview for the med school and I'm pretty sure that's the case here. Go for the top, but don't forget to have a few "safety schools" on hand.

Philly

------------------
    "They do certainly give very strange and newfangled names to diseases."
    - Plato

4. wolf

wolf Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

thank you so much for your replies.