Advice/School List Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Moo2

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Quick recap for me:

Top tier college graduated may 2012 with BS in Neuroscience
GPA c3.33 s3.4ish (no grade inflation :(.....)
mcat 29R P9 V10 B10 in 2011

applied for Fall 2012, got one interview at UVM, didnt find out until august that i didnt get in (I think i must have been on an alternate list or something)

i have been working as a research assistant in an HIV lab.

I have been studying to try to improve my MCAT a couple of points. THe first time i studied i was averaging 33 with a range of 30-36. But got a 29. This time im having trouble getting my practice scores up! I did Princeton review the first time and this time im using that on the side and taking the examkrackers class. I have found it is difficult to manage studying and working FT. Would a re-take with a lower score hurt my application?

I was a resident of NJ when I applied. Live in DC now, but haven't changed my license. Does that mean I am still a NJ resident according to the AMCAS/Med Schools?

I assume I should reapply to UVM, and perhaps my in-state schools... Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated!

What do you think my chances are? Let me know what you think!

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

With those numbers, I'm surprised you actually got the interview. Do not reapply unless you've shown evidence of significant improvement between the interview and the next application cycle.

Your GPA is well below avg for MD schools, and ditto the MCAT. Most MD programs like at least the "triple double (10/10/10).

You might have best luck with your state school (I'd go with NJ) and the lowest of the low tiers, like NYMC and Rosy Franklin.

You're fine for any DO program, including mine.

Quick recap for me: