Advice...Teacher wanting to apply to vet school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AgTeach1

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a high school teacher-my credential is in agriculture, I've taught/teach animal science, ag bio, etc. I also have a Master's Degree in Agricultural Education. when I was younger I really wanted to be a vet, but under the guidance of some of my own ag teachers I was told not to major in animal science ("there are no jobs") and ("no one gets into vet school"). I pursued a career in education, and while I enjoy it, it isn't what I thought it would be. Now that I am a teacher myself, I know that is crap and I would never advise a student to not follow their passion.

Anywho, I am fairly young still (24) and would need to get some pre-reqs done before applying (Physics/O-Chem). I grew up raising livestock (dairy,sheep,swine, poultry) and have worked during some of my free time while I was in school on farms/ranches.

My first question is....1) Does my animal experience even count in the eyes of an admissions committee?
2) Would you recommend getting experience in small animals since my background is in animal agriculture?
3) Since I know I don't want to teach forever, would it be better to pursue a new job in the animal industry?

Just wanted some advice from those that have applied, are applying, have been accepted or are career changers like me!

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.