Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Alamanda

Alamanda
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a minority graduate student working on a Masters in animal physiology. I have a 4.0 grad gpa now and I'm working as a graduate teaching assistant. Also, I'm currently the president of a pre-medical society. Unfortunately, my undergrad gpa was not the same. I have a 2.86 from undergrad. My major was Biology and minor Chemistry. I worked two jobs through college to make ends meet and volunteered now and again but, what really hurt my gpa was when I miss judged my own abilities to do my best when a close relative was fighting cancer that ended up being terminal. Needless to say I got a few C's and one D. When I did regain focus I replaced the D with an A and my grades whent up. Recently, I took the Aug. 2000 MCAT for the 2nd time and didnt do well. I got a 20. I know I must do much better. I'm working on my weak points now and preparing for the April 2001 MCAT. I'm working hard to complete my masters in 2 years and I plan on doing so well on the MCATs that I will be accepted to medical school by then. I know nothings for certain so I will continue to work hard towards my goal. I would like some advice on my situation and how I may improve my application to medical school.

------------------

Members don't see this ad.

Well, there's the obvious stuff, like improving your MCAT scores and maintaining your stellar gpa, but you know that already. For the MCAT, have you tried taking one of those courses offered through Kaplan or Princeton Review? That might help, although they are expensive.