advise for pharmacy student who is considering career in California

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LasagnaBoy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I read another person's post about the difficulty of finding a pharmacist job in Southern California, and I got kind of scared since I am an Illinois resident who is going to be a P1 this fall at an Illinois pharmacy school who is considering moving to California after pharmacy school to work as a pharmacist. Right now, San Francisco is where I have my eyes set on if I do move to Cali. My question is...how difficult is it to get either a retail or hospital job in the Bay area?

Also, does anyone have any advise on what I should do these next 4 years of pharmacy school that would increase my chances of finding a pharmacist position in California after graduation (whether it be residency, retail, or hospital)?

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

I just got an email from a headhunter offering many jobs in California. If I'd have known it might have done humanity some good, I wouldn't have deleted it. Chucks.

I wouldn't worry about it, with the population aging and California only having so many schools, I'm sure you'll find a job somewhere. Good luck with the cost-of-living out there.

You could possibly start working for a major retail pharmacy company right now such as Walgreen's, CVS, Rite Aid, etc. and when the time comes to graduate, you could always ask to transfer out to the San Francisco region in your company. That is actually what I did and just today, I got an offer to work for the retail pharmacy company I've worked for in the last 4 years in southern California. I was pretty excited and happy, plus it's a nice area I will be going to. If you have any other questions, pls feel free to PM me.

Members don't see this ad :)
LasagnaBoy,