Dismiss Notice
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

After Graduation: Back to CC or State School to Finish Pre-reqs?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical Allopathic [ MD ]' started by Developer, 09.21.14.

1. SDN is made possible through sponsorships and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Developer

Developer Aspiring Immunologist Gold Donor 2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    hSDN
    hSDN
    Alumni
    I'm a sophomore currently studying business administration at UC Riverside and I won't be able to finish the pre-reqs for med school before I graduate because of the 216 quarter unit maximum for graduation. I'll be able to finish both the gen chem and ochem series and I already have 1/2 of the biology requirement completed with a class I took at CC before I started attending my current school.

For financial reasons, I want to avoid having to take the rest of my pre-reqs at the same school after graduation.

Would it be wiser to attend the local cal state during summer sessions to complete the physics series, one more general bio course, and biochem? Or would it be okay to complete these courses at the CC in my hometown so that I could save more money?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. NickNaylor

NickNaylor Daisy the Dog Lifetime Donor 7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Verified
    Physician
    SDN
    Author