Air Force Air force Hsps 3 years scholarship worth it

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

200k debt AF worth it? for 4 years of my life?

• Yes, definitely

Votes: 10 90.9%
  • Nah, you will be making bank in the real world

Votes: 1 9.1%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

chopchop123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello world,

I am a first year dental student at a state school, so I got the air force 3 years hsps scholarship, but I wonder if it is worth it. My total debt would be around 260k + interest for 4 years of dental school.

If I take the scholarship, it will be a 4 years commitment (3 years paid back + 1 year AEGD). I am 24 right now, so by the time I'm done with my pay back I will be 31. How hard is the transition from AF dentistry to civilian dentistry? How long will it take me to open my private practice?

I am a little bit worry about the IRR of 5 years after my paid back period; I understand that it is extremely rare, however with the middle east crisis as of right now, nobody can't really say what will happen in the next few years (a WW3 for example!?)

Can you guys please give me some input regarding this? Is it worth it for my 195k - 3 years tuition that AF sponsor for me? Let say if I can pay back that debt in 4 years in civilian practice?

Thank you

Sincerely

Members don't see this ad.

Dude, if we get WW3 they'll probably activate Selective Service and you'll probably get drafted anyway. That scenario is more likely than getting called back off IRR.

Reactions: 2 users
If I take the scholarship, it will be a 4 years commitment (3 years paid back + 1 year AEGD).

You don't HAVE to do an AEGD. You have to apply, but no one can force you to do one if you want to get out ASAP.

How long will it take me to open my private practice?
That's up to you. If you feel ready go ahead and apply for a practice loan.