1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

airforce dentistry

Discussion in 'Dental' started by filbee, Jan 29, 2002.

1. filbee

filbee Junior Member

I am interested in learning about the airforce dentistry scholarship. If anyone knows anything about it, is in it, or is now a practicing dentist in the military please contact me or describe the pros and cons.

Thanks

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. aftoothdoc

aftoothdoc New Member

I am an Air Force dentist and have been for almost 4 years now. I also was on a 2 year HPSP scholarship during dental school. I have a lot of opinions about the Air Force and Air Force dental corps. I have to preface everything by saying I would not make a different choice today. I would still do the HPSP and I would join the Air Force. However, you must also know that I am planning on getting out in the summer.
    First the HPSP: This is a great deal, especially depending upon the school you are attending and the tuition and fees that you are charged. When I was on scholarship I had a two year scholarship and owed a 3 year payback. All of my books, fees, and tuition were payed for as well as a monthly stipend. It is very important in dental school to keep your debt low, because it allows you more freedom when you graduate to practice when, where and how you want. The last numbers I saw were that the average dental school graduate is $80,000 in debt upon graduatioon. The scholarship allowed me to be well below half of that number. I have friends who are paying over $2000 a month in student loans. Throw in a car loan, house loan, and it makes it more difficult to get a new practice loan. The scholarship is an excellent way to help control debt. It relieved a lot of the financial stress that you are under during dental school and allowed me to concentrate more on school.