Albany Med- Union Coll 8 yr

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Moneyless

Not a Junior Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey... I am about to go on my interview for Albany Medical College soon for the 8 yr program with Union College... I've heard AMC focuses on ethics and stuff... But I'm just a high school student! Do they still ask the same type of stuff for the 8 yr applicants? Like I don't even know how HMOs work...

Thanks! Any advice would be great!

Members don't see this ad.

I know someone who interviewed there and also at other 7/8 yr programs, and those interviews are much worse than regular med interviews. They want to make sure you're committed to medicine and know what you're getting into. Have you spoken with physicians about healthcare issues? You'll definitely get ethics questions and HMO questions and many other health care questions. The person I know said that these interviews are extremely confrontational and challenging. They expect you to not only be on par with those 4 years older than you, but they also need to make sure that you'll definitely continue on the course towards becoming a doctor.

Definitely read the interview feedback and also study healthcare and ethics questions.

Many best wishes.

wow, thanks! I appreciate you help!

is there anyone with firsthand experience with an interview with AMC that can give me some advice?

Members don't see this ad :)
A word of caution: there is nothing in life that is guaranteed, except that we will all die someday. Always read the fine print: if you get accepted to such programs, there is always the stipulation that you must perform adequately in the college phase. Do poorly, and the guaranty is voided.