Alleged resume fraud of co-resident. What to do?

Discussion in 'General Residency Issues' started by decgra, 09.29.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. decgra

decgra

I'm a resident at a great IM program. Its among the top preference for IMG's.

A few days back, I overheard a phone conversation of one of our interns with a 2015 match applicant. She did not realise anyone else was in the room, and was giving tips for the ERAS application.

To my surprise, I heard her tell this applicant to pad the research section of the CV with non existent stuff- to cook up a few researches as 'awaiting ethical committee clearance', a few as 'ongoing data collection' and also to write some friends completed researches as your own. She said that its going to be fine as nobody bothers to check. "It worked for me and it will work for you too".

Later I confronted her and asked her about this. She laughed it off and said I heard wrong.

Needless to say, I'm angry and confused. A few of my classmates from med school are working as lab research assistants now (cleaning lab apparatus etc.), hoping to somehow make it through the next match, and then there are people like this?

Should I do something about this? Hope someone can advise me.

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. graddoc2013

graddoc2013 2+ Year Member

Post Doc
    i hope she has to pay for this false information, it totally unfair for many IMG's who work their butts off to improve CV

4. SouthernSurgeon

SouthernSurgeon Lifetime Donor 7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Verified
    Physician
    Let it go

Dharma likes this.
  5. Raryn

Raryn Infernal Internist Gold Donor 7+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    Verified
    Physician