Allergy job market

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted595450

I am a PGY 2 IM resident. I am deciding between rheum and allergy. I like the patient population of allergy - young age relatively healthy. I like that vast majority of patients are happy. The only thing that is keeping me from applying to allergy is the job market. My assessment is that it is not that good - only 50 jobs on AAAAI website. I have also heard stories about difficult job market. I am thus leaning towards rheum. The only other thing would be to apply to combined programs but I do not know if there is any benefit of rheum/ allergy combination. Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Rheum job market is pretty good. You can more or less pick where you want to go, and there are usually a few jobs that can accommodate you. There's no point to do a combined fellowship unless you want to do academia.

Reactions: 1 user
It depends on a lot of variables. If you're a good allergist-immunologist....you can open shop anywhere. If you want to run a shot factory....I would not recommend allergy. Thankfully, this is not the major focus of my practice. "Only 50 jobs"....most jobs are not posted and there are not a lot of fellows graduating...you have to cold call places (call practices in the area you're interested in). Also, you need to feel comfortable negotiating salary/partnership. I think a combined fellowship would be a great option to pursue. I was exposed to a lot of rheum during my AI fellowship, so I care for them in my practice....it all depends on your comfort level. I think rheum or AI are both great options.

Members don't see this ad :)