Allied Health Pre-Meds

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by EMDream, May 16, 2007.

1. EMDream

10+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hi, just wondering if there are any other allied health pre meds out there. I'm a PA (just graduating actually), who has after some thought decided to go the long route after all. I'd lvoe to hear from others who were/are NP's/PA's/nurses/PT's/OT's or other "allied" professions before embarking on this. What's your experience so far?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. DropkickMurphy

DropkickMurphy Membership Revoked
    Removed

Other Health Professions Student
    I'm a respiratory therapist and echocardiographer.

4. EMDream

10+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    :) What stage in teh application process are you? How are you finding it?

5. njbmd

njbmd Guest
    Moderator Emeritus 5+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I was a registered respiratory therapist with specialty in Pediatric-Perinatal when I applied to medical school. My background in respiratory therapy was nothing short of helpful both in the application process (had a 4.0 GPA in RT school) and in medical school (physiology, pathology, clinical year). Almost every one of my interviewers for both medical school and residency, commented on my prior work as a respiratory therapist.

Allied health experience is good in terms of having plenty of clinical experience and ease with patient care. It can sometimes be a problem if you believe that you have some superior advantage over your fellow medical school classmates who do not have your clinical exposure. One of my classmates who was a PA was quite obnoxious during class (he always interrupted the professors with some example that he had seen). He actually ended up failing out because sadly, medical education is quite a haul for anyone regardless of prior background.