Allo vs Osteo Match

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Hi
I'm a DO student who is looking to do a residency in Internal Medicine. I didn't take any USMLE's (big mistake on my part but nothing to do now) but got a 591 on my COMLEX 1 and will probably do similar on COMLEX 2. Lots of extracurriculars, decent PS & LOR's (very complimentary but not big name writers), no research.

With everything getting so much more competitive, even though IM isn't traditionally that hard, do you guys think I have a chance at an allo spot in a decent program? University would be amazing but I'd do a community one with a minor university affiliation. I'm looking mainly in Michigan, NY, Philly, Boston, and Chicago. Any advice on specific programs to apply to?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Can some one chime in on a couple of points (why this probably belongs in osteo)...

1. What is the COMLEX usually out of, and what percentile (ish) does 591 correlate to (average with SD would be useful)

2. Do osteos going allo have to take USMLE?

Members don't see this ad :)
Yeah on the COMLEX the average score is 500 and 1 SD is 82 points, IIRC.

It's a respectable score but many allo programs would still obviously like to see a USMLE score.

Last edited:
Few allopathic PDs are going to know how to translate comlex scores, and they probably don't care either. My guess is not having a USMLE = getting your application screened out.

Yeah, I was afraid of that. Unforunately as a naive 2nd year, our school advised us not to take the USMLE if our practice test was under 240..and as such, I'm in this position.

Out of curiosity then, how do so many DO's match allo without the USMLE then? It seems like many are out there. Do you (or anyone else) know of programs that DO accept DO's without USMLE?

I, unfortunately, have zero clue