Almost going to give UP!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

diamondbot

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated 2 years ago with a gpa of 2.56 c. During that summer after graduation I volunteered at a health clinic translating for Hispanic patients. Doing that motivated me to go back to school and raise my gpa. I went to a university in a different state and I retook general chem and general bio and general physiology. I now have a 2.83 c gpa. I don't know if I should apply to a Masters Program such as Exercise science or go to my state university and do more undergrad science courses. I am studying for the MCAT this summer. I was thinking of applying to DO schools this year, given that I get a rockin' MCAT. Any suggestions or advice is greatly needed and appreciated!! Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I think your best choice would be a SMP. Try to get your gpa up to a 3.0 and 30+ on the mcat. Then apply to SMP's.

Is the updated cGPA using the AACOMAS grade repalcement policy? Or did you include both earned grades for each retake? Why not continue to retake classes you did poorly in to raise your cGPA/sGPA further?

While the AACOMAS application does merge undergrad and grad GPAs, a number of DO schools judge you by the undergrad component only, similiar to the way that AMCAS schools do. So unless you know exactly which DO schools have what policy, getting into a graduate program isn't necessarily a good idea.

Some DO schools will consider cGPAs as low as a 2.5 provided you have an upward grade trend (and you do) and a strong MCAT score (yet to be determined).

If the MCAT goes well, do you have all your LORs and ECs lined up and ready to go, including a DO LOR?

Members don't see this ad :)