Am I considered a non-traditional and disadvantage applicant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SniperWolfisKurdish

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a full time student at a 4 year college in NY. I was not born here. My family migrated to US in 1998 when I was around 11-years-old. I started public education at the age of 12. I was enrolled in the last quarter of 7th grade. Before that I was in elementary school till grade 3rd in my country. I was in enrolled in a private religious school in between the time I missed public education which was solely based on a different language and had nothing to do with public education in anyway. There are 6 of us in the family and my father yearly income was $33,000 before 2002. After 2002, my father's income dropped down to $14,000 until last year which it also dropped down to $13,000. My father is type 2 diabetic and has been since 1995.
I received my GED diploma at the age of 21 in 2008. I attended a community college in NY in Spring 2009 semester and was enrolled in 3 ESL courses. Over the course of 2009, 2010, 2011, and Spring 2012 I took courses at this community college and took about 74.5 credits. I ended up with an overall 2.8 GPA at this community college.