Am I considered a non-traditional and other important questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LabRat86

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to apologize in advance if these questions seem dumb

1) I am currently studying to be a medical technologist and plan to work for two years before applying to medical school (Got to pay off the loans :) ). Will this make me a non-traditional student?

2) Will I have to retake those pre-req again?

3) Can I still use the LORs from the ones I collected while in school or do I have to get new ones?

Thank You

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:

1) I am currently studying to be a medical technologist and plan to work for two years before applying to medical school (Got to pay off the loans :) ). Will this make me a non-traditional student?

3) Can I still use the LORs from the ones I collected while in school or do I have to get new ones?

Thank You

1. No, in order to be considered a non-trad, you have to have been out of college for more than a few years or have switched from a different career path than the one that you started with when you graduated.

2. If all your pre-reqs covered the requirements for med schools, no. Retaking classes were you got a C or better might actually hurt you. Just make sure that your MCAT scores are recent and no more than 3 years old.

3. Yes, you can use LOR's that you collected from your professors while in college, however, you might also want to solicit a few additional LORs from your current employer or people who've known you recently.

NOn-trad is defined very loosely. Most say it is anyone who didn't do the straight to UG to medschool road. There are no membership requirements to join our club.

Many schools ask that LORs be less than one year old.

Good luck to you.

Members don't see this ad :)
Does the less than one year old rule apply if my school has a premedical committee?

Thank You