Am I focusing too much on research for MD application?

• Yes

Votes: 3 23.1%
  • No

Votes: 10 76.9%

• Total voters

cheerios123

2+ Year Member
Jun 4, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi I am a rising sophomore in college. I worked in a research lab for my freshman year and I am working there full time during this summer. I recently finished writing a manuscript, and I will send it to a journal by the end of this month; I will be first-author. I am starting 2 more independent projects, and this will take 12 hours/week during my sophomore year. I have also put a lot of time into tutoring and making a tutoring program at a school with a non-profit. For clinical exp, I am only volunteering 4 hours/week at a hospital. I feel that I am not spending enough time on clinical experience because I am so passionate about research and working on tutoring programs. What do you people recommend? I don't want the absence of good clinical exp ruin an app. I'm just trying to plan ahead so I can get some good experiences before I apply to med school.

OP
C

cheerios123

2+ Year Member
Jun 4, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
That's true. But is research really that important for MD? I feel that 2/3 first author publications on a MD application wouldn't be as great as 2/3 first author publications on a MD/PhD application.

Dox4lyfe

2+ Year Member
Feb 7, 2017
Obviously it'll carry more weight for an MD/PhD applicant, but if you're passionate about it (like you said you are) and enjoy it, don't sacrifice it for something else. Also, if the rest of your app is golden, this extensive research experience will set you apart from the rest at the research driven schools such as Stanford.

If you continue 4hrs/wk for the next two years (assuming you haven't done any thus far) you'll have around 200+ hours which is more than enough.

Pagan FutureDoc

2+ Year Member
Oct 28, 2015
Status
MD/PhD Student
If you are passionate about research I'd say it's fine, especially at schools with a lot of research.