Am I likely to get accepted into Dental School with a BS in Dental Hygiene?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cumminsman13

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there. I know there are multiple threads out there with answers to questions that are similar to mine. However, I feel as though my situation is different and because of that, I could not seem to find a useful answer in any of the other threads. I am a freshman in College, and I am just finishing up my generals. Anyway, my problem is that I have a full ride scholarship to my current university, but the university does not offer a biology program. There is a chemistry program and a physics program, but I don’t feel like either of them would genuinely interest me, and I’m afraid I would be putting my GPA at risk. My current university does offer a Dental Hygiene program though. If I get my BS in Dental Hygiene and I minor in Neuroscience, while still completing all of my science pre-req's, do you think I would still have a fair shot? Having a BS in Dental Hygiene could give me an advantage right? I know Neuroscience isn’t strongly related to Dentistry, but it seems interesting to me and I am confident I could maintain a high GPA. I know a lot of people say you have to major in a science, and if that is my absolute best option then I can make that happen. There is a major university in my state, which also has a dental school that I planned on eventually applying to, and a biology program is offered there. I would lose my full ride scholarship though. Plus I live at home right now, and I would have to move out because that University is about 40 miles away from where I currently reside. Those are the main disadvantages at the moment. Sorry for making this so lengthy, but your responses are greatly appreciated.

Oh and also, I am a male. Is it weird for men to major in Dental Hygiene?

Members don't see this ad.