Nov 26, 2013
Status
Medical Student
I was recently accepted into US MD medical school with a full-ride scholarship. I am a non-trad, I graduated ~8 years ago with a 3.7+ sGPA/cGPA in Biochem. I got a below 30 on my MCATs. I really see myself in the health care/medical field keep on hearing different things about medical school. I like research, I want to be able to provide care and hopefully teach one day.

I keep on hearing different things about medical school. The thing that really concerns me the most is the amount of volume that medical school is and standardized tests. I am a very meticulous learner. I would really go through the material in undergrad and make sure that I understood/memorized it. By going to lectures, reading the textbook cover to cover and annotating class notes. I am not the fastest reader either. I heard that in medical school I wont have time to do all of this and I heard that undergrads can differ in difficulty and I do not know if mine was particularly difficult. My school allowed us to take a maximum of 18 credits which I pretty much did every semester.

I have taken a couple graduate level courses since then a Biostats course which was kinda easy (got an A- and an A) and a Neuroanatomy course (without lab) which I probably got a B or A- in partly because I do not think I really put in the adequate amount of time but I found the majority of the information fascinating and I was sort of taking it to help me prepare for medical school. I am left with so many questions and I wish I studied/memorized the material in more depth.