Am I setting myself up for failure?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Karicean

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an 18-year-old soon to be college sophmore with a major in Biotechnology. But because I did not recieve enough credit hours to officially classify myself as a sophomore, I have to take 4 credits in the summer and decided to take microbiology. Along with working part-time at Subway (15-25 hours max per week). However, I would also like to volunteer at my local hospital (4-8 hours per week) this summer and I just feel like this would be a little overwhelming.

Only because I am a perfectionist at heart with a 4.0 GPA and I can only prioritize one thing at one time. That is why I only work in the summers. So how would I juggle all of this and still try to get an A in an 8 week class?? Should I just not volunteer? My summer class is Tues/Wens/Thurs and for four hours.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am an 18-year-old soon to be college sophmore with a major in Biotechnology. But because I did not recieve enough credit hours to officially classify myself as a sophomore, I have to take 4 credits in the summer and chose to take microbiology. Along with working part-time at Subway (15-25 hours max per week). However, I would also like to volunteer at my local hospital (4-8 hours per week) this summer and I just feel like this would be a little overwhelming.

Only because I am a perfectionist at heart with a 4.0 GPA and I can only prioritize one thing at one time. That is why I only work in the summers. So how would I juggle all of this and still try to get an A in an 8 week class?? Should I just not volunteer? My summer class is Tues/Wens/Thurs and for four hours.

Volunteer like once a week for a couple hours? I think it is manageable. You can be a perfectionist all you want but you also need to learn time management.

Reactions: 3 users