medmom

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 11, 2005
Colorado
www.mdapplicants.com
Status
Medical Student
Here's the deal. I am a VERY nontraditional student. I am 21 and currently pregnant with my 3rd child. I had my first in high school so gave up the dream of med school and decided to do nursing. Well after an unimpressive 2.5 years as a nursing student I decided that I could do it with kids (2) and so I changed my major. So here I am finishing my first year as a pre-med and I have 3 semsters left after this semester. Here are my problems: 2.9 GPA and 2.7 science due to not enthusiastic or stellar nursing classes, I am very busy with working part time, volunteering 2 hours a weeks at the hospital, 3 kids, a working husband oh yeah and a full college load. I do shadowing a couple times a summer and I attend pre-med club meetings when I can. So am I wasting my time trying to do med school. My grades aren't good, I am very busy but not with the usual pre-med stuff, and I am a mom. Do they take people like me? I know what being a doctor is like because my mother in law is an M.D. Ad I know that this is what I REALLY want to do but I feel like I am not at all a competetive candidate. What do you think? I am trying to get the grades up but I am afraid I won't be able to get it to much higher. I am shooting for a 3.0.
Ellie
medmom is online now Edit/Delete Message

NeuroSync

Every day is a good day
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 22, 2005
Puget Sound
Status
Attending Physician
Don't give up, Ellie. Now that you know what you want/need to do, demonstrate it with good grades. Consider all options (MD/DO). Yes, they take "people like you." You can even use your experiences in your essays to your advantage.
Good for you for sticking with your dream and working toward it under very difficult circumstances. :)

uptoolate

SDN Angel
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Sep 13, 2004
Status