Am I'm being too optimistic!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mr Rehab

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I would love the feedback...positive or negative doesn't matter...

I am currently a senior about to graduate in May 2012...I was planning on applying for the 2012 cycle, but did not due to a sub 20 MCAT score. My preparation for the MCAT consisted of less than 8 hours a week of studying that was constantly interrupted. Honestly, I had the worse standardized testing experience ever when I took the MCAT. But anywhooo...I transferred from a four year institution where I played college football for two seasons. My gpa suffered due to that which is okay and part of the reason why I transferred to get a new start (I know AMCAS looks at all GPAs and grades). So here is a rundown of my statistics!

CUMGPA with both colleges (3.4)
SCIGPA (3.0)
MCAT: Sub 20 but will definitely be retaking the exam
Extracurriculars:
President of a Peer-Educating/Community Service Student Organization (2 years)
EMT-B (2 years)
Nurses Aide (Paid Employment) 1/2 year
Resident Assistant (Paid Employment) 1 year
Physical Therapist Aide (1 Summer)
Clinical Research with Childhood Obesity and Physical Activity (1 Semester)
College Football (2 Seasons)

That's pretty much the gist of it all, let me know what you guys think...I appreciate the feebback!

Members don't see this ad.

Sub 3.0 science + sub-20 MCAT asking for MD? Not going to happen. You'll need an SMP and at least a 33 to be taken seriously.

And just in case, no, D.O. school won't accept you either. Only difference is if you hit a 28 and get the sGPA to at least a 3.2 you could have a chance. Nothing set in stone.

Sub 3.0 science + sub-20 MCAT asking for MD? Not going to happen. You'll need an SMP and at least a 33 to be taken seriously.