Amcas Gpa Scale?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kittykat82

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to the process of med school applications. I would like to know if the AMCAS calculates GPA on a certain scale. I ask because my college does not use minus (-) grades and I know a lot of schools do, will this bring my B+ =3.5 down to a 3.3? Thanks I would like to know.

Members don't see this ad.

No worries. A B+ is still a 3.5.

i believe the AMCAS GPA for a B+ is a 3.3

Members don't see this ad :)
My school uses no "minus" grades. Each B+ I have is designated as the grade "AB" and has been assigned a 3.5.

Not sure about schools where there are minus grades.

Bizarre. My B+ grades are given a 3.3.

Originally posted by HollyJ
Bizarre. My B+ grades are given a 3.3.

I think it has to do with each schools grading system. I think that for schools with minus grades, an A- would be a 3.7, and a B+ would be a 3.3.

And thus, why AMCAS has its own standardized grading scale.

At most of the schools I've gone to (which had both plus and minus grades), an A- was a 3.5 and a B+ was a 3.3. But I have seen other places where a B+ was a 3.5.

I think for AMCAS, a B+ is a 3.3, but I'm not 100% certain.

A B+ is a 3.3 on AMCAS. I am absolutely sure about this. A- is 3.7. Otherwise it wouldn't be fair.

A+, A: 4.0

A-: 3.7

B+: 3.3

B: 3.0

and so on...

To the OP, your B+ should be a 3.5. To everyone else who didn't get it, the OP doesn't have A-, so their GPA is

A=4
B+=3.5
B=3
C+=2.5

My school does the same thing except BA instead of B+ and CB instead of C+....

It wish I had A-s a 3.7 would've be nice instead of a 3.5 in many cases.:)

At my school, and any school I have ever attended or heard of:

>90 = A = 4.0
>80 = B = 3.0
>70 = C = 2.0
<70 = fail

There are no + or - assigned to the grades.