AMCAS heads up

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

J.Pearlman

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I am almost finished with the AMCAS, and I don't want anything going wrong with it so I just wanted to ask what mistakes I should be aware of what others already had. Also, for the course name, you abbreviate right?

Members don't see this ad.

Also, how come when I enter semester 2 (spring) of Year 99, it shows as semester 2 (spring) of academic Year 98. This would mean that I was in college before I graduated high school, am I doing something wrong.....

Originally posted by J.Pearlman
Also, how come when I enter semester 2 (spring) of Year 99, it shows as semester 2 (spring) of academic Year 98. This would mean that I was in college before I graduated high school, am I doing something wrong.....

that same thing happened to me, i think its because it counts the academic year.....so if the academic year was 98-99, both semesters show up as 98.............

also, how do you put AP scores on AAMC

nero

Members don't see this ad :)
I had the same trouble with dates entering courses into the form, but my pre-med advisor assured me that regardless of how inscrutable it appears in the AMCAS form, the data are given to the schools in a manner that is readily understandable.

The only other tip that I can give you is with the essay. If you cut 'n paste your essay from Word, be sure you proofread it in the AMCAS form: some of the symbols in word (like quotation marks) will come through as other symbols.

Good luck!

to AP comment:

i don't think you have to. your official transcript will tell AMCAS exactly what your college gave you credit for and the whole thing (the total no. of AP hrs) shows up as a separate item on your AMCAS application after you get verified (meaning AMCAS has received your school's transcript).