Kaycee

2+ Year Member
Sep 15, 2014
Nigeria
Status
Pre-Medical
I have a Bachelor's degree in Biochemistry/Microbiology from the university of Nigeria, with a CGPA of 3.99 over a 5.00 Grading system. I'm working towards coming to the US for my masters degree after which pursue Medicine, what are my Chances of getting into medical school in the US, how do I maximize these chances? Your ideas, contributions and wealth of knowledge willl be highly appreciated. Thank You.

zzxxzz

5+ Year Member
Jan 13, 2012
Status
I have a Bachelor's degree in Biochemistry/Microbiology from the university of Nigeria, with a CGPA of 3.99 over a 5.00 Grading system. I'm working towards coming to the US for my masters degree after which pursue Medicine, what are my Chances of getting into medical school in the US, how do I maximize these chances? Your ideas, contributions and wealth of knowledge willl be highly appreciated. Thank You.
The average international matriculant to a US MD program would have a 4.72 on a 5.00 scale and has 33 on the MCAT. Standards are significantly higher for international applicants.

OP
Kaycee

Kaycee

2+ Year Member
Sep 15, 2014
Nigeria
Status
Pre-Medical
The average international matriculant to a US MD program would have a 4.72 on a 5.00 scale and has 33 on the MCAT. Standards are significantly higher for international applicants.
If I had a master's degree from a US University does this increase my Chances in any way?

Catalystik

The Gimlet Eye
10+ Year Member
Sep 4, 2006
The Other Side of the Portal
If you plan to earn an MD degree, the primary application service, AMCAS, does not accept foreign coursework. You would be obliged to earn 60-90 semester credit hours (2-3 full time college years), including all the prerequisites, to get consideration by the vast majority of med schools, though a few only require 30 credits and at least one requires a full bachelors degree. These credits could be a mix of masters and undergrad coursework.