Anesthesia critical care fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

afteranesthesia

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be an intern in my Anesthesiology residency this summer. I've read some of the past threads on fellowship application timing, and it is all a bit confusing and happening earlier and earlier. It seems people apply at all different times, though.

When do people apply to critical care fellowship? What are known to be the strongest critical care programs with the best training? Hopkins? UCSF? Vandy? Wash U?

Are there any specific things programs look for in a fellow that I should be doing/planning during residency?

I realize I'm only an intern, but I'd rather start off on the right foot with my goal in mind.

Members don't see this ad.

Look for a fellowship that allows you to obtain TEE certification after your training...so this means the fellowship should allow you to get experience with TEE/TTE reads and procedures during the fellowship. Also make sure they perform a wide variety of procedures (VADS, ECHMO, hypothermic protocol, etc) and expose you to a wide variety of intensivists (medical, neuro, surgical, cardiac, etc). Another important thing to look for is flexibility...do you essentially function as another resident on the ICU team. Can the resident call schedule function with out you...the answer in my opinion should be yes. Look for a program that treats you as junior staff more so than a senior resident.