Another school selection question :)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

debbidala

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

Just got my MCAT score today, so I finally have real numbers to plug into the school selection spreadsheet! Quick background - I'm a nontrad with an unfortunate ugrad GPA. I have a 4.0 since returning to school, but that's only brought my sgpa up to 3.29 and cgpa to 3.22. My MCAT is 34R (12P, 10V, 12B). I'm a Maryland resident and I have a big family, so I have to consider my husband's career (he's an IT director, so we need urban-ish areas) and my kids' stability (prefer to stay on east coast to be near family) when looking at schools. That said, here's my tentative list so far. Any thoughts? Thanks for looking!

University of South Carolina
Virginia Commonwealth
EVMS
Drexel
NYMC
GWU
Temple
Jefferson
Georgetown
Penn State
SUNY Downstate
University of Maryland
Hopkins (I know it's a joke, but I'm in Baltimore, so I can't not try!)

Members don't see this ad.

Osteopathic?? Your life story seems to fit the bill. You do have a strong upward GPA trend, and an MCAT score to be proud of. Clinical experience?

Thanks for the post! I have about 300 hours of clinical volunteering (at a Trauma PACU) plus a bunch of other non-clinical ECs (president of the board of a nonprofit preschool, community supported agriculture coordinator, society of physics student club, etc). I'm sort of on the fence about DO schools. I don't know why, but the holistic philosophy and IMM (is that what it's called?) don't really seem to suit me (not saying they're bad at all! Just not for me). I was sort of hoping for a better MCAT score so I could be a little more confident about Maryland - it's definitely my #1 choice - but since it is what it is, I'm trying to figure out where to apply a little more broadly without too badly disrupting my family. Thanks again for the input!