1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Another success story, with a moral!

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by chanjurban, Dec 20, 2005.

1. chanjurban

chanjurban Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Hi fellow non-trads. I'm a long-time reader, occasional poster. You guys probably don't all know me, but I thought I'd let you know... After 2 difficult years, I've been accepted to SLU. (YAY!!!) :D

I'm a teacher (have been for 5 years). I decided to switch careers 2 years ago - while I was pregnant. Studied for the MCAT completely on my own... Took the darn thing in a cramped desk that certainly did not have room for the 2 of us. Applied to med schools shortly after baby was born and didn't get in because I wasn't able to put in any clinical time during the course of the pregnancy.

Well I fixed that last year. Let me just strongly emphasize. If you are switching careers to get into medicine, shadow a doctor, do some volunteer work... Otherwise, no matter how good the rest of your stats are (and mine were pretty darn good) you WILL be waitlisted at best. Med schools need to know that YOU know what you're getting into.

That being said, props to all you seasoned, knowledgable, mature folks. The medical field needs more of us. (I'm saying this as a 28 year old wife and mother who will most likely be one of the oldest ones in her class :rolleyes: :rolleyes: ) I've got a lot of respect for those of you doing this even further into your careers/lives.

Cheers and good luck! :luck:

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. kimmcauliffe